W.Va. Counties Provide Non-Motorized Trail for Biking and Hiking | Travel and outdoors


PRINCETON, W.Va. – Plans for a network of non-motorized trails offering hiking, mountain biking and other recreation that will span large parts of southern West Virginia continue to grow. expand with the inclusion of another county.

The Mercer County Commission recently passed a resolution for the Southern West Virginia Non-Motorized Trail Authority, which now includes Raleigh County.

“The counties of southern West Virginia including Monroe, Summers, Mercer, McDowell, Raleigh and Wyoming share a diverse history filled with triumphs and challenges,” County Commissioner Bill Archer read in the proclamation. From the popular healing springs of Monroe County to the railroad, lumber and coal industries of Wyoming, McDowell, Raleigh and Summers counties, citizens of West Virginia’s southernmost counties have long enjoyed ‘a common bond of need and strengthened by the love of the mountainous region we all call home. “

The counties of the Southern West Virginia Non-Motorized Trail Authority are looking for ways to develop a network of non-motorized trails in six counties for hiking, kayaking, canoeing, mountain biking and draisine trails, as well as a network of horse trails, said Archer. This multi-county trail network will benefit area residents as well as visitors.

“In addition, the Southern West Virginia Non-Motorized Trail Authority is committed to developing a system that offers an alternative – not competition – to the Hatfield-McCoy trail system of all-terrain vehicles in the area,” it read. in the resolution. “By developing a network of non-motorized trails on abandoned logging roads, coal railroads and waterfront trails, the United Counties can promote healthy activities for citizens and guests while making a commitment to the environmental stewardship of our shared natural resources. “


Comments are closed.