Plymouth pair Welch, Weiser at the top of their game

Feb. 27 – FRANCONIA – In a sport that has so many variables, Dylan Welch, a junior at Plymouth Regional High School, has consistently been one of the NHIAA’s top downhill skiers in his career.

A week after winning the individual giant slalom and slalom titles for a third straight year at the Division III championships, Welch won both events when the champions meet Thursday at Mittersill Alpine Resort.

Welch clocked 1 minute, 19.75 seconds over his two giant slalom races to meet the champions. During the afternoon slalom session, he set a meet best time of 35.39 seconds in his first run and finished with a total time of 1:11.58.

Division II slalom champion Patrick Wachsmuth of Bow finished second in the event clocking 1:16.27. Profile of Bethléem Troy Boisennault was second in the giant slalom, finishing with a mark of 1:21.88.

“It’s a tough sport to be so consistent in… so many things can go wrong, especially when pushing hard and trying to ski hard and fast,” said Plymouth coach Dan LeBlanc. “The consistency is just amazing.”

Welch, who will forgo the Eastern High School Alpine Championships next month to compete at the U18 Nationals in Colorado, said he felt confident going into the meet of champions and hoped to lead both events from a distance.

Welch said he finally settled down this season by spending many hours on Mittersill, his native mountain.

“My skiing has been really top notch the (last) months and I keep going faster and faster,” Welch said.

Welch’s teammate, rookie Aura Weiser, fell in her first giant slalom race and didn’t run her second but bounced back nicely in the afternoon to win the Meet of Champions slalom title.

Weiser, whom LeBlanc describes as a strong, aggressive skier with a go-getter attitude, clocked the two fastest ladies’ slalom times of the competition (38.61 and 39.71 seconds). She won the giant slalom and slalom at the Division III championships with times of 1:00.42 and 59.68, respectively.

“(I try) to block and think about the next races,” Weiser said of how she got on from her morning crash.

Welch wasn’t surprised by Weiser’s performance in the slalom even after she crashed in the morning.

“She impressed me a lot,” Welch said. “I knew she was going to come here and smoke everybody, to be honest. She skied really well in her regular races and ski trips.”

Profile’s Sophie Bell finished second to Weiser in the slalom with her time of 1:18.61. Bell won both events at the Division IV championships.

Kennett’s Ashley Garside took the giant slalom crown, finishing with a total time of 1:25.06. Profile’s Makenna Price (1:26.78) and Concord’s Savannah Shannon (1:26.91) rounded out the top three spots.

The top 12 boys and girls from each event will represent New Hampshire at the Eastern High School Alpine Championships.

NHIAA Champions Meet

At Mittersill Alpine Resort, Franconia (Thursday)

Girls results

giant slalom

1. Ashley Garside, Kennett, 1:25.06; 2. Makenna Price, Profile, 1:26.78; 3. Savannah Shannon, Concord, 1:26.91; 4. Molly Dishong, ConVal, 1:27.15; 5. Sophie Bell, Profile, 1:27.56; 6. Jamie Lemire, Trinity, 1:28.28; 7. Allie Hussey, Kennett, 1:28.33; 8. Elaina Demaggio, Profile, 1:29.84; 9. Maya Spiegel, Kearsarge, 1:30.55; 10. Alyona Latsilnik St. Thomas, 1:31.06; 11. Lyla Kimball, Souhegan, 1:31.66; 12. Grace Pocaro, Windham, 1:31.74.


1. Aura Weiser, Plymouth, 1:18.32; 2. Sophie Bell, Profile, 1:18.61; 3. Savanna Shannon, Concord, 1:22.04; 4. Makenna Price, Profile, 1:24.27; 5. Molly Dishong, ConVal, 1:24.83; 6. Allie Hussey, Kennett, 1:27.04; 7. Audrey Purnell, Bedford, 1:27.37; 8. Ashley Garside, Kennett, 1:27.99; 9. Clara Locke, Hopkinton, 1:28.22; 10. Lyla Kimball, Souhegan, 1:28.53; 11. Hailey Ramundo, Derryfield, 1:28.78; 12. Alyona Latsilnik, St. Thomas, 1:30.34.

Results boys

giant slalom

1. Dylan Welch, Plymouth, 1:19.75; 2. Troy Boisenault, Profile, 1:21.88; 3. Eli Gadbois, Bow, 1:22.27; 4. Colby Rathbone, Bishop Guertin, 1:23.04; 5. Dino Boisenault, Profile, 1:23.31; 6. Jake Bates, Goffstown, 1:24.81; 7. Colin Rathbone, Bishop Guertin, 1:24.85; 8. Cole Rodman, Bedford, 1:24.92; 9. Chris Bennett, Pinkerton, 1:25.02; 10. Jack Price, Profile, 1:25.79; 11. Mitchell Berry, Belmont, 1:25.87; 12. Will Chapin, Hopkinton, 1:25.88.


1. Dylan Welch, Plymouth, 1:11.58; 2. Patrick Wachsmuth, Bow, 1:16.27; 3. Jack Price, Profile, 1:16.42; 4. Mitchell Berry, Belmont, 1:17.18; 5. Wesley Stocken, Hanover, 1:17.53; 6. Chris Bennett, Pinkerton, 1:17.71; 7. Coen Mullins, Profile, 1:17.85; 8. Eli Gadbois, Bow, 1:18.36; 9. Jake Bates, Goffstown, 1:18.63; 10. Colin Rathbone, Bishop Guertin, 1:18.78; 11. Adam Bell, Profile, 1:19.55; 12. John Roth, Sunapee, 1:19.96.

[email protected]

Comments are closed.